LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

19 SEPTEMBER 2017

Present: County Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

County Councillors Dilwar Ali, Lent, Lister and Dianne Rees

10 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Congreve and Parkhill.

11 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were received.

12 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on the 20 June were agreed as a correct record of the meeting and signed by the Chairperson.

13 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governor Vacancies was received and noted.

14 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That the public be excluded for the following item of business as it contained information not for publication by virtue of paragraph 12 of Part 4 of Scheduled 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

15 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies and considered all applications against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED: That the Council is recommended to

(1) Approve the following appointments to current Local Authority School Governing Body vacancies:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	PROPOSED APPOINTMENT
Allensbank Primary School	Gabalfa	18.05.2017	Richard Chapelle
Baden Powell Primary School	Splott	17.09.2016	Mike Smith
Birchgrove Primary School	Heath	14.07.2017	Mike Ash-Edwards
Danescourt Primary School (2 vacancies)	Llandaff	01.09.2016 25.07.2017	Leon Goddard
Glan Yr Afon	Llanrumney	11.07.2017	Lesley Noakes

Primary School			
Glyncoed Primary	Pentwyn	06.06.2017	Jane Francis
School	-		
Herbert Thompson	Ely	20.01.2017	Derick Mbakwe
Primary School			
Hywel Dda Primary	Ely	31.03.2017	Andy Jones
School			
Lakeside Primary	Cyncoed	04.07.2017	Nicholas Barber
School			
Llandaff CiW	Llandaff	30.05.2017	Philip Barratt
Primary School			
Pentyrch Primary	Pentyrch	05.05.2017	Cllr Gavin Hill-John
School	D	40.40.0040	T 0 " 1
Rhiwbina Primary	Rhiwbina	18.10.2016	Tom Gallard
School (2 vacancies)		23.05.2017	
Severn Primary	Riverside	24.03.2017	Hannah Sterritt
School			
St Fagans CiW	Ely	15.07.2017	Claire Hill
Primary School	_		
St Illtyds RC High	Rumney	11.05.2017	Justine Pianowski
School (2 vacancies)		01.09.2016	
St Mary The Virgin	Butetown	22.06.2017	Peter Tully
CiW Primary School			
The Hollies School	Pentwyn	26.09.2016	Claire Hardy
Trelai Primary	Caerau	28.06.2017	Les Maxim
School			
Willows High School	Splott	15.09.2016	Camila Lovelace
Ysgol Gyfun	Llandaff	04.07.2017	Cllr Rhys Taylor
Gymraeg Glantaf	North		
Ysgol Pwll Coch	Canton	17.08.2017	Liam Sulivan

(2) Approve the following appointments to future current Local Authority School Governing Bodies:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF	PROPOSED
		VACANCY	APPOINTMENT
Cardiff West	Ely	23.10.2017	Dewi Jones
Community High		23.10.2017	Karen Dell'Armi
School (5 vacancies)		23.10.2017	Zenny Saunders
		23.10.2017	Janice Lane
		23.10.2017	Cllr Russell
			Goodway
Cathays High School	Gabalfa	22.11.2017	Sam Knight
Ely and Caerau	Ely	15.12.2017	Cllr Sue Goddard
Children's Centre	-		
Lakeside Primary	Cyncoed	25.10.2017	John Wilkinson
School			
Llanedeyrn Primary	Pentwyn	25.10.2017	Christopher Ribton
School			
Llanishen High	Llanishen	20.11.2017	John Caddick
School (2 vacancies)		20.11.2017	Maurice Pendlebury

Meadowlane Primary School	Trowbridge	31.01.2018	Mark Wilmore
Radnor Primary School	Canton	20.12.2017	Roberta Meredith
Rhiwbina Primary School	Rhiwbina	22.11.2017	Alan Wilson
Rumney Primary School	Rumney	25.10.2017	Jonathan Williams
St Mellows CiW Primary School	Llanrumney	02.11.2017	Debra Brown
Willows High School (2 vacancies)	Splott	25.10.2017 31.01.2018	Su Wade Cllr Ed Stubbs
Ysgol Gymraeg Coed-Y-Gof	Fairwater	31.01.2018	Anghard Davies
Radyr Comprehensive School	Radyr & Morganstown	19.01.2018	Caroline Taylor

Consideration of the applications received for Western Learning Campus was deferred until the next meeting of the Local Authority Governor Panel.

The application for the future vacancy at Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna was not approved by the Committee.

16 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Local Authority Governor Panel is on Tuesday 21st November 2017 @ 5.00 pm

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg